Elected to RSW 1981

Artists Statement

Studied with Ian Fleming and R Henderson Blyth in Aberdeen and with J McIntosh Patrick at Hospitalfield. Met Kenzo Okada in Paris and developed a lifelong interest in oriental painting and zen philosophy, informed by the work of American colour field painters of the 1950s.


1953-1958 - Studied Gray’s School of Art, Aberdeen
1958-1959 - Hospitalfield College of Art, Arbroath and abroad
1960 - Member of The Scottish Society of Artists
1963-1968 - Education Officer, Council of Industrial Design, Scottish Committee
1968-1989 - Director, Aberdeen Art Gallery and Museums
1988-1998 - President, Royal Scottish Society of Painters in Watercolour
1989-1996 - Aberdeen City Arts and Recreation Officer
1995 - Member of The Royal Glasgow Institute of Fine Art
1998-Present - President, Royal Scottish Academy
1999-2007 - Trustee, National Galleries of Scotland


1980 - ESU Thynne Travelling Scholarship
- May Marshall Brown Award, RSW
- Sir William Gillies Award, RSA
1971 - Guthrie Award, RSA
1969 - Institute of Contemporary Prints Travel Award

Selected Exhibitions

RSA Annual Exhibitions
RSW Annual Exhibitions
RGI Annual Exhibitions
RA Annual Exhibitions
RHA Annual Exhibitions
57 Gallery
Scottish Gallery
Richard Demarco Gallery
Fruitmarket Gallery
Compass Gallery
Open Eye Gallery
Albemarle Gallery
Ingleby Gallery
Fine Art Society

Public Collections

Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art
Scottish Arts Council
Arts Council of Northern Ireland
Contemporary Art Society
Aberdeen Art Gallery and Museums
Glasgow Art Gallery and Museums
City Art Centre, Edinburgh
Perth Art Gallery and Museum
McManus Gallery, Dundee
Arburthnot Museum, Peterhead
Abbot Hall Art Gallery, Kendal
Hunterian Museum, University of Glasgow
Napier University
Friends of Royal Scottish Academy
Nuffield Foundation
Department of the Environment
Carnegie Dunfermline Trust
Grampian Hospitals
Strathclyde Education Authority
Pictures for Hospitals
Lothian Education Authority
Robert Fleming Holdings
Royal Scottish Academy
Deutsche Bank

* denotes past President Back to Members